Waterjet Cutting for Shredder

Hello! I first heard about this project a few weeks ago and I have been completely enamored by it ever since. I’m not at all ‘handy’, but after watching all of Dave’s videos, I feel like I should be able to take on this project with the help of my more-skilled friends and this forum.

I’m most interested in cleaning up my community, but I like the idea of turning trash into a valuable resource. My plan was to build the shredder first and then consider the other components after that.

I have friends that can help with every aspect of building the shredder, except for the laser cutting of the shredder components. I reached out to a local business that can accommodate this work (I’m in Seattle, Washington) and was relatively shocked when I got the quote from them.

They’re saying that it will be $803.62 to fabricate the parts!

That seems extraordinarily high, but I’m new to this field of work. Am I barking up the wrong tree? Should I be able to find this work cheaper? Does anyone have a better contact in the US (specifically, the west coast) that could accomplish this for cheaper?

I was expecting $300 or less. Maybe I’m mistaken. If this is an accurate assessment, I’ll have to indefinitely postpone this project. Any advice?

$733 is way too high. There are several group purchase threads who can get you down to a $300-$400 before shipping.

@chriskudla Good point on the rust on the regular steel, I have also gathered quote from different companies from crazy amounts like $2,000 to the cheapest $1,050.

I am in for the group buy, can you contact the company back and ask them for a quote for 10 shredder to see how much the price drop. Im from North Jersey shot me an email andreaparcana@gmail.com

It looks like the design in Mexico is using plain steel, but I could be wrong. I’ve sent them an email to confirm. This would make a big difference in cost but would also rust over time which would contaminate the plastic.

Chris